Meet the Maestro

Kirk Gustafson, Music Director

“On or off the podium, he stresses tremendous passion for music”…”an elegant figure on the podium”…”sensitive”…”a conductor of elegant exactness.” These are a sampling of reviews written about Kirk Gustafson, Music Director of the Grand Junction Symphony. Gustafson received his formal training from the University of Colorado and the University of Washington, where, as a Boeing Fellow, he earned his Doctorate of Musical Arts in opera and orchestra conducting. Active as a guest conductor, Gustafson made his international conducting debut in the Summer of 2009 with the National Orchestra of El Salvador. He has appeared with the Littleton, Rogue Valley, South Dakota, Southwest Illinois, Salt Lake and Idaho Falls Symphonies; the Boulder and Arapahoe Philharmonic, Arvada Chamber Orchestra and the Colorado Festival Orchestras, where he was assistant conductor for eight seasons.

Credited with bringing the GJSO to a new artistic level, Gustafson’s accomplishments with the GJSO include a longstanding commitment to the orchestra’s artistic growth, diverse programming of orchestral masterworks never before performed in Grand Junction and the inception of the Musician’s Training Fund, a fund devoted to further the training of GJSO musicians. He remains deeply committed to the education of young musicians and was instrumental in starting the GJSO’s Young Artist Competition. Each spring, under his leadership, the GJSO has presented its Springfest program, where chamber music groups from the symphony demonstrate their instruments at elementary schools across the Grand Valley.

Gustafson is an accomplished cellist and has appeared as soloist with various orchestras, and maintains his interest in teaching as a Lecturer at Mesa State College.

The Orchestra


Carlos Elías, concertmaster
Norman Ashley, principal
Sarah Battles
Alisha Bean
Michelle Berry
Denis Campbell
Kami Costello
Ellen Currier
Jean Dillion
Brian Hanly
Gretchen Hartop
Robert Hicks
Allison Kitto
Rachel Lavadie
Paul Ludwig
Karen Maloney
Megan Miller
Amanda Milner
Linda Mowrer
Mark Puckett
Sandra Rivera
Sandra Sundstrom
Debbie Tennapel
Amanda Walton
Nathaniel Waterman
Melba Wubben
Paul Wubben
Shannon Young


Bob Denning, principal
Julie Barton
Cynthia Bauer
Michelle Berry
Mary Ella House
Liz Kingston
John Ligrani
Heidi Snyder
Karen Youmans


Cameron Law, co-principal
Noelle Goslee-Smith, co-principal
Jackson Berry
Laura Bradley
Barbra Campbell
Reuben Corbett
Adelaide Currier
Shirley Kramer
Michelle Park
Karen Skoog
Chelsea Yamaguchi


Troy Raper, principal
Monte Atkinson
Zach Bush
Ron Jordan
David Mills
Dusty Munger
Holly Wood


Jane Kuenzel, principal
Kristi Ballif
Shelley Warren


Mary Lindsey Bailey, principal
Laura Brown
Katie Lawson


Mick Wilson, principal
Debbie Wilson

E-Flat Clarinet

Adam Ballif

Bass Clarinet

Marilyn Veselack


Patrick Daily
Paul Schneider


Ken Heitt, principal
Gregory Cukrov
Betty Richardson

Contra Bassoon

James Harvey


Diana Musselman, principal
Janet Cummings
Jennifer Daigle
Clint Miller
Jack Nisley


Calvin Hofer, principal
Judd Berry
Scott Betts
Sarah Kamstra


Sean Flanigan, principal
Jeff Mason

Bass Trombone



Scot Bingham, principal


Darin Kamstra


Darin Kamstra, principal
Jack Chipchase
Morgan Gagliardi
Lisa Hillan
Lonni Ann Karly
Rob Labig
Isaac Lavadie
Apryl Ott
Katie Stiles




Elise Helmke, principal

Librarian & Personnel Manager

Paul Ludwig

Technical Director

Gordon Rhoades


  • channel 11
  • the vault
  • Fairfield Inn
  • KNZZ